Twas the Night Before Christmas…

This was the scene of last Christmas Eve. For some reason we all were wearing silver paper crowns, a silly trinket that you “pop” open for the gift inside that my mother bought for the table that lead to everyone wearing theirs throughout dinner.That’s my Uncle talking to my Mom at the end of the table and my Great-Uncle on the right demonstrating how to properly destroy napkin rings, probably to one of my younger cousins. Christmas Eve is always full of family, alcohol, holiday cheer and my Great-Uncle making fun of everyone and causing more trouble than any of us younger kids could ever get into.

There will be bottles of champagne, tables full of alcoholic beverages and my mother will pull off her magic trick of never running out of wine…

A table set, and decorated by yours truly, for ten people…

There will be gift giving and story telling. A game of balderdash and lots of smiles and laughter. My mother is making a lasagne for the big meal tonight, screw the ham we’re going to our roots–Italian that is. There will be snickerdoodles, gingerbread men, nutballs, sugar cookies and ciabelle cookies. A sherry trifle (that you could get drunk on), homemade eggnog and did I mention booze?

We’ll watch The Christmas Story and It’s a Wonderful Life on repeat, and play Christmas music during dinner. I will, of course, force everyone to listen to my favorite Christmast song at least a dozen times:

and maybe this one once or twice:

Christmas Eve is our big holiday here in my house. We don’t do anything for Christmas Day (unless you count two years ago when we went to my Grandfather’s wife’s family and I ended up with a PICKLE FORK). Christmas Eve is when we all gather around and forget that Ashley never cleaned the upstairs toilet and the fact that my Brother ate all the cookies made especially for that day. Where we forget that Ashley moved home and is unemployed and that my brother works at a recycling center, neither places either of them wants to be. All those can be remembered December 26th, but for now we can enjoy each others company and not think about all the pesky little details.

Now go read Peter’s A Blogger Christmas Carol and enjoy a good laugh. (I’m not promoting this because I make a guest appearance. Or that several of my favorite bloggers make guest appearances. I swear. It IS quite funny.) Merry Christmas, everyone! 🙂

4 Responses

  1. Christmas Eve is our big family get together as well. Enjoy the day. Merry Christmas, Ashley!!

  2. Merry Christmas

  3. Your Christmas sounds so nice and fun! I’m excited you mentioned snickerdoodles because we always have snickerdoodles and lot of my friends don’t even know what they are!

    Merry Christmas!

  4. Merry Christmas to you and yours! 🙂

Leave a Reply

