Missing: One Holiday Spirit

When I was younger, getting a Christmas tree was a whole family event. We would all bundle up, put Shelby, our golden retriever, on a leash and pile in the car. We’d go to the same tree farm every year and tramp through the snow looking for our perfect tree. It took us a while; we could never decide upon one tree, there was always something wrong with the trees that we did find but in the end we would find that perfect tree, cut it down and tie it to the top of our minivan.

It’s been a very long time since we last went out as a family to get a Christmas tree. Usually I don’t arrive home until a few days before Christmas and by then the tree has been up and decorated for at least a week or two. For the past few years my parents have even gone so far as getting a pre-cut tree from the christmas market in Ann Arbor, which my brother and I have proclaimed as sacrilege. This year, however, my dad, brother and I went out to get a tree with our two dogs in tow, just like old times. Kind of.

See the problem with tree shopping with your father and your brother is that they’re trying to get a tree as fast as they possibly can and they do not care what tree they come back with. The other problem? There’s only one of me, so I only get one vote and am ALWAYS outvoted.

The first place was a dud, with barely a tree in sight that could possibly pass as a christmas tree. The second place, a small place called Irish Hills Farm, seemed more promising. It wasn’t set up like your typical tree farm. It lacked the neat rows of trees, instead it was laid out like a forest–very haphazardly.

I ended up off on my own with Casey, the little sheltie (which meant I was carrying him a lot. The dog was not built for forest undergrowth) wandering through all the spruces and proceeding to get really lost. I loved feeling like I was in the middle of the woods looking for my tree. I found my brother next to this tree that wasn’t horrible but it wasn’t great either. Both brother and father wanted to be done with it and they took one look at the tree I happened to be standing next to, and decide THIS is the tree.

I desperately tried getting them to look elsewhere, there were SO many other trees! That were fuller! That didn’t look like it was going bald! But since I’m only one person and Casey didn’t give two shits what the tree looked like, he just wanted to get the hell out of the snow, I was outvoted. 2 to 1.

So we cut down the tree, dragged it through the snow and tied it to the top of the car. We drove it home, set it up in the living room and now we have a Christmas tree that my mother and I have proclaimed is NOT a proper Christmas tree.

Things should be festive, the christmas spirit should be in full bloom but yet…its missing. I’ve tried Christmas music, I’m watching Elf and I saw The Christmas Story the other night. Christmas wreaths are up, I’ve gotten my first Christmas card in the mail, we have a Christmas tree, and I’ve eaten Peppermint Bark. It has even snowed outside. For some reason, I just cannot find the spirit.

I had found the spirit while I was in Paris. There was something about Paris that exuded Christmas–the cold crisp air, the changing leaves, the Christmas lights all around the city, the holiday markets, the Eiffel Tower all lit up at night. Something about Paris screamed holidays, joy and spirit. Yet, three weeks later, and I’ve lost that. (I think the solution? Go back to Paris!)

I’m hoping some holiday baking, egg nog, putting  up ornaments and lights, and this new blog header will help put me in the mood. (Plus, its snowing on my blog! You’re welcome.) Until then, I’m putting Glee’s Last Christmas on repeat hoping that it will kick my ass into Christmas shape.

9 Responses

  1. If you were to move to Paris I would come visit you. I’m just sayin’.

  2. Your blog is such a breath of fresh air, so delightful and joyous! A real source of inspiration, thank you for your many morsels of goodness.

    If you have a moment or two, please amuse yourself with my new creation. I would greatly appreciate the brief moment of adoration and any suggestions.

    http://itapetingabella.blogspot.com/

    Thank You.

  3. it’s okay to not have the holiday spirit every year. sometimes, it just doesn’t happen.

  4. Having spent a Christmas in Paris, I really, really know that you need to hold all other Christmases to another scale. It’ll never measure up, yo.

  5. i don’t understand why most boys find christmas tree picking something that should be rushed. i try every year to get excited about christmas and usually the first couple weeks i genuinely am, but then it fades. i really need to make christmas cookies but i can’t find the desire to do it by myself 😦

    its ok to not have the christmas spirit. maybe it will show up at the last minute

  6. Sometimes it’s just hard to get there babe. We’ve all had those years.

    I’m sort of walking the line in the middle. Sort of excited, but not bubbling over like I was last year. I blame stress 😛

    Enjoy your snow! NYC is nothing but rain, as per usual…

  7. Can we discuss how I cried at the finale of Glee? CRIED. TEARS.

  8. hey lady (not sure if you’re using your real name so i won’t say it! lol)…love the blog.
    i’m back too. come play!!!

  9. that is so fun that you go and cut your trees, i wish there was a place like that to do here. and don’t worry you’ll get in the holiday spirit soon enough, it’s sort of inevitable sometimes, haha.

Leave a Reply

